Have you ever felt you were at the end of your rope? Found yourself wondering how you could go on?
Of late I know I have been tested in this way. Across health, home and ministry I have felt stretched. It seems God knew this would happen, that at times we would find ourselves at the end of ourselves. More than that He knew that at these very times we would be blessed. Blessed! Trust me! He made it clear we were blessed in these times! No lie. Check it out! That’s exactly what He says.

You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule. (Matthew 5:3 MSG)

There is no if, no when. If you are at the end of your rope you ARE blessed. There is nothing you can do to change that fact. What is in question is whether you will ‘feel’ blessed. Whether you will live it out. That only comes when activating the second part of the verse – letting God do more, be more, be your all.

I’ve seen this when on missions trips to third world countries. There, a seemingly simple stomach illness for us, is a life debilitating issue for them. They don’t have any other option but to reach out to God. And that can seem like they are the ones at the disadvantage. Yet I have seen their faith more sure, as at the ‘end of their ropes’ they have sought God and seen Him do the miraculous. Where the healing for us is in a major medical operation for them, in a moments, it is a miracle from God. So who is more sure of God’s amazing power? Who is more blessed?

For me in these recent life challenges I too can attest to there being ‘more of God’. In the midst I have found more of His grace, mercy, hope and power. I don’t have all the answers to my situations. But one thing I do have is God. He is in control. He is accomplishing a great work in my heart, mind and life. Not in spite of all that is happening but through it. That is how God God is. For at the end of my rope I have found His. And His rope is never ending, it has no end.

I truly am blessed.
And so are you!

Leave a Reply

